Sweet Wilbur

I thought I was done with crusades. Seriously, I’ve done my share of crusading, often involving lost causes . . . or causes that were just plain thankless.

I don’t know whether it’s the recent loss of our four-year-old bundle of bouncing joy, Wrigley, or that I simply can’t deny who I am, but when my girlfriend, Jill, told me about her childhood friend and what she was doing for (and sacrificing for) a sweet, week-old colt, I had the urge to do something.

It has been too difficult for me to write about losing Jill’s precious dog, Wrigley, although I’ve tried. (And, of course, there was that could be done for him. His illness took him so fast.)  So, I’ll take this opportunity to write briefly about a cause that seems to have some some hope . . . and an awesome champion.

Jill’s friend, who owns Texas Livestock Rentals, has taken in Wilbur, whose mother died giving birth to him due to being undernourished and in poor health generally. Despite the inevitable financial and emotional burden, Texas Livestock Rental adopted this precious and helpless orphan, who is in need of surgery and long-term medical care.

Sometimes, it is the least fortunate who have the gift of bringing joy to others. (Just watch the videos!) For me, Wilbur’s story is extremely compelling:

“On October 25th Wilbur’s mother was dropped off at the local auction to be sold. She was skinny, poor and unbeknownst to anyone at the auction, pregnant.

The next morning the auction barn employees found that Wilburs mother had given birth but had since died.

Wilbur was all alone.” –posted November 6, 2011 by taylorelise84.

I know this is not everyone’s forte, but Lisee Smalley has risen to the challenge, and I am proud to know someone who knows her. I am proud to lend my voice to this cry in the dark.

Those of you who feel like Lisee, Jill, and I can help by donating via Saving Wilbur and/or by passing this story on to your friends and spreading the word.

Wilbur is receiving veterinarian treatment at Waller Equine Hospital.  The cost of services can be verified by contacting them.

Go, Lisee! You rock! . . . and go sweet Wilbur!

About eric v blanchard

Eric Blanchard was born and raised in Houston, Texas. He considered dropping out of high school but, instead, became a litigation attorney. He has also spent time as a teacher. His poetry has been published in a variety of literary journals and reviews, both online and in hard copy. His poem "The Meeting Ran Long" was nominated by Literary Orphans for Sundress Publications’ 2013 "Best of the Net" anthology. After living and writing in Ohio for several years, Eric recently returned to Texas.
This entry was posted in etc., Just voices and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Wilbur

  1. Lisee Smalley says:

    Eric – I am absolutely speechless! I have cried so many times over the wonderful things people have done to help Wilbur and this is another one of those times.

    I am so truly sorry to hear you lost Wrigley. I remember talking with Jill about him when she got him.

    I have had to put 2 dogs down within the last few years that I had had for over 10 years and know how that tugs at ya.

    I can never thank you and Jill enough for the support and for “having my back”!

  2. Lisa says:

    Thanks for opening your heart and spreading the word about dear Wilbur. 🙂

  3. It’s just so sad to have it end the way it did. 😦

Leave a Reply

